Reviews

Get A Copy

Setting the Med Ablaze

From: Peter Dixon

Twitter:

All Tweets for book 113

Total Book Tweets for Peter Dixon is 218

Average Rating:

Based on 0 reviews

It was Christmas 1942. Eleven young women braved the attentions of Nazi U-Boats in the deep Atlantic on their way to North Africa. About to play their part in defeating Hitler, they called themselves the First Eleven.
According to Winston Churchill, the Mediterranean was the key to defeating the Third Reich. And a crucial part of undermining Fascist power in Italy, France and the Mediterranean islands would be subversion and sabotage. But the undercover fighters needed a springboard to spearhead their operations in the ‘soft underbelly’ of Europe.
Those eleven young women joined heroic soldiers, sailors and secret agents at the Special Operations Executive’s new North African base. Code-named Massingham, it was hidden away among pine trees by a Mediterranean beach. SOE, America’s OSS and the French intelligence agencies worked together to undermine cruel regimes.
This is the remarkable story of Massingham. Its life was short. Less than two years after its formation, its multinational job was done. British, American, French, Italian, Spanish: together they played a key role in the Second World War.
Alongside the espionage of MI6 and the strategic deception of ‘A Force’, Massingham’s men and women launched covert operations at dead of night: by parachute, by submarine, by canoe easing silently on to a deserted beach. In the tradition of Antony Beevor and Ben Macintyre, this book reveals an aspect of WW2 history that has remained hidden for far too long.


Books from Peter Dixon

Total Book Tweets for Peter Dixon is 218


Author's BookClubPro Webpage
Visit Author's Website: https://www.cloudshillpress.com

Share on Social Media
Get A Copy



Book Banners are tweeted top to bottom. Banner #1 was the last banner tweeted.

Book Banner 1


This was the most recent book banner location tweeted. Next tweet will be with banner below. When we tweet the last banner on page, we will start back at the top.



Book Banner 2


This is the next book banner location we will tweet. When we tweet the last banner on page, we will start back at the top.



Recent BCP Tweets for this book:







Share on Social Media
All Tweets for book 113